Back to Kids' Voices Anna

Hey, my name is Anna and I'm 15 years old. I was born in a little town in northern Illinois. I have a pretty large family. I have four sisters: 22, 18, 16 and 14 years old. I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when I was 5 years old. Even though it was a while ago, it seems new everyday.

After a couple days of urinating every 5 minutes, chugging glasses of water and losing a lot of weight my parents knew something was up. They took me to our doctor and he knew right away I had diabetes. I was sent to the hospital and my mom had to learn everything about the disease in such a short time, poor mom lol. Anyway, I was too little to understand really anything then but when I got older my doctors really wanted me to do my own shots. It was very hard, harder than it looks. You're basically watching yourself hurt yourself. So that didn't work. We talked to another one of my doctors who suggested the MiniMed pump. I've been on that for about 4 years now and I love it. I mean, things aren't perfect, but for me to be able to even forget I have diabetes is awesome (until I slack off and don't write down my blood sugars and get screamed at by the doctor lol).

I guess the worse part about diabetes is the managing the blood sugars. It's like a guessing game, you never know if your blood sugar's going to be good or not.

A little about me---I am home schooled, but I'm not one of those freaky messed up home schooled kids. I have only been home schooled since the beginning of this school year. I went to high school for about 2 weeks and hated it, so my parent's let me switch over to American School. I get my courses, read the books, do the tests and send them in. I will graduate really early. I am moving to Florida next winter, I guess I'm pretty excited. Something new. I love to horse back ride even though it's been a while since I've done it. I used to show saddleseat, then I switched over to western and I took a couple driving lessons. I love driving horses, it's awesome. But now I'm just basically hanging out with my awesome friends. I love traveling, I want to be a flight attendant when I turn 18. I am traveling to Europe this summer for a couple of weeks through my town's local Rotary youth exchange program. Hopefully I will get my first choice and go to Ireland. I love being outside doing anything and everything, espcially fishing. I like to draw, tan, hang out with my friends, drive (this summer yeah!), play volleyball and I'll try anything once so I can say I did it lol. I have a cat named Caramel, she's awesome, she's like a human no joke. I'm getting my first tattoo (!!) for my birthday this June. I'm so excited. I have 6 piercings, double on my ears, cartilage on my left ear and my belly button pierced. This might sound like I'm giving off a bad impression, but I really am a laid back, adventuresome, kind, happy person.

I will write back to anybody who writes to me! I would love to hear from you. My email is nosh_tsherlock22 AT and my aim is horsenoogie2002.

Published January 19, 2006

My best friend Erika (left) and me (right)

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: (none)
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.