Back to Kids' Voices Phoebe

Hi my name is Phoebe. I am 8 years old and I live with my Mum, Dad and brother Jake (aged 14) in Lewes, near Brighton, in England. I was diagnosed type 1 diabetic in December 2001.

Since I became diabetic I've had a lot to learn. I inject insulin twice a day (morning and evening) and use a finger prick blood monitor 4 times every day to check my blood sugars. My friends at school are cool about everything, and they help me when I 'feel funny' (have low blood sugar).

I'm a dancer and a gymnast, and I have 2 cats (Sophie and Oddball), 2 Dogs (Gypsy and Tess) and 2 Guinea Pigs (Buffy and Willow). I like dancing best of all, and enter competitions for street dance, rock 'n' roll and slow dance as well as pairs and team events. Dad says my dancing helps control my diabetes because it keeps me fit, but I just love to dance anyway.

If you would like to write to me please send an e-mail to my Dad's address - sweder[@] - and I'll write back to you.


Published May 22, 2003

Phoebe using her insulin pen

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: (none)
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.