Back to Kids' Voices Caroline

Photo Howdy! My name is Caroline. I live in Missouri City, Texas (right outside of Houston). I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the age of 8 months. I was on vacation with my mom and dad in North Carolina. I had frequent urination, I was vomiting, and I had been losing weight. I ended up in the children's ER in DKA. I was in the ICU for five days and then got moved to a regular room. I was so glad to leave the hospital on the sixth day!

I am on Lantus and Humalog and get between 4-6 shots a day. I am still in the honeymoon period, so my mom and dad check my BG quite often. I am walking now and I'm in to everything! I love to eat, but my diet is limited with only 7 teeth. My mom and dad have become very creative in preparing my meals.

I have gotten used to the insulin injections and having my BG checked. I don't even mind too much anymore. My mom and dad rotate injection sites for my insulin and use all 20 of my fingers and toes to test my BG!

My mom and dad can be reached via e-mail at 79mohn [@]

Published February 15, 2002

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: (none)
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.