Back to Kids' Voices Tyler

My name is Tyler. I am nine years old and have had diabetes for two years. I like extreme sports and computer games. One year ago I got the pump and its cool. I'm looking for a friend in the San Francisco Bay Area who is about my age and likes the same kinds of stuff I do. The greatest thing I have done since my diagnosis was going to Bearskin Meadow Diabetes Camp for kids in California. It was so cool meeting other kids like me. I learned to count carbs, adjust insulin, and take shots on my own. It was there I learned about the pump and even got to borrow a set to try out.

I have two dogs, a cat, and two birds. I just earned a purple belt in Taekwondo and learned to snowboard this year. Diabetes doesn't change who I am or what I do. I love extreme sports, friends, Backstreet Boys, Aaron Carter, Animorphs and Harry Potter. I love the ocean and my favorite place is Hawaii.

I have trouble playing intense games like basket ball because I sometimes get low. But still, I try to not let diabetes get in the way of my life.

P.S.: It doesn't really matter where you live because we can be e-mail pals. :)

Email me at

Published March 23, 2001


  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: (none)
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.