Back to Kids' Voices Marloes
US Flag

Hi, my name is Marloes. I am 9 years old and live in the Netherlands in Capelle aan den Ijssel, a town close to Rotterdam, the world's biggest harbour. My hobbies are gymnastics and playing outside. I am in primary school in group 5. I think the best part of school is playing during the breaks! History and Geography are among the subjects I don't like too much. I do like gymnastics and language lessons.

I am half of the twin and my twinsister's name is Evelien. She fortunately has no diabetes, and she doesn't like it that I have diabetes. When my blood glucose is too high and I can't take too much sweets or so, she also doesn't take it which helps me a lot.

We have a dog, a cat and a rabbit. The dog's name is Chico and he is 13 years old which is pretty old for a golden retriever.

We do lots of funny and interesting things with a group of children with diabetes from our area. We went to visit the fire-brigade and visited our town's footbal (soccer) teams stadium, Feijenoord. We also went together to the Rotterdam Zoo and this summer we will visit a special children's theater.

I was 2 years old when my diabetes was diagnosed. I inject insuin 4 times daily and usually check my blood glucose 4 times a day. I hate the insulin shots much more than the blood sugar tests. I recently stayed in the hospital for a while when my glucose values were out of control. Fortunately I am back home now and can play outside and go to school again.

I would love to receive your e-mail! My E-mail address is

Bye, bye,

Netherland Flag

Hallo, ik ben Marloes. Ik ben 9 jaar oud en ik woon in Nederland in Capelle aan den IJssel, dat is vlakbij Rotterdam. Mijn hobby's zijn turnen en buitenspelen. Ik zit op school in groep 5, het leukste op school vind ik buitenspelen in de pauze. Geschiedenis en aardrijkskunde vind ik geen leuke vakken. Gymnastiek, hoeken en taal vind ik wel leuk. Ik heb een tweelingzus en die heet Evelien. Evelien heeft gelukkig geen suikerziekte, wel vindt zij het vervelend dat ik suikerziekte heb. Vooral als ik hoog zit, want dan krijgt zij ook geen extra snoepje. Wij hebben thuis een hond, 2 katten en een konijn. De hond heet Chico en is al heel oud: 13 jaar! Dat is heel oud voor een Golden Retriever.

Ieder jaar ga ik met andere kinderen die ook suikerziekte hebben iets leuks doen. We zijn al naar de brandweer geweest, naar de dierentuin en naar het Feijenoord voetbalstadion. Dit jaar gaan we naar het kindertheater.

Ik was twee jaar oud toen er bij mij suikerziekte werd ontdekt. Ik moet sinds kort vier keer per dag spuiten en bloedsuiker meten. Het insuline spuiten vind ik vervelender dan het prikken in mijn vingers.

Ik heb pas nog in het ziekenhuis gelegen omdat het niet zo goed ging met mij, gelukkig kan ik nu weer buitenspelen en naar school toe.

Ik zou het leuk vinden om met andere kinderen te E-mailen.

Mijn E-mail adres is


Published May 23, 1999
Updated June 28, 1999

  Back to Kids' Voices Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: (none)
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.