Back to Adults Julie

My name is Julie and I'm 19 years old. I have been diabetic for the past 9 years. I got an insulin pump only 4 months after I was diagnosed. I love my pump, but it has made me more irresponsible about my diabetes, so I am debating whether to go back to shots. I am a camp counselor for 4-9 year old diabetics. I love it because the kids really look up to you. I also went to diabetes overnight camp in Michigan.

I live in Illinois, and have lived there my whole life. I graduated high school in 2004, and I am in my 2nd year of college at the College of Lake County. My major is nursing, and I will be transferring to a 4 year school for Fall 2006.

I am an avid bowler, and I have been bowling for the past 7 years. I played on my high school's team as a varsity player for 3 years. Currently, I average about a 180. I am looking to transfer to Elmhurst College, so I can bowl for their team.

I would love to meet other people who are diabetic and around the same age as me. I'm excited to be almost half way through my college years and look forward to working as a registered nurse.

dancefanatic4ever AT


Published November 13, 2005

  Back to Adults Return to the Top of This Page

Last Updated: (none)
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents. Our mission is to provide education and support to families living with type 1 diabetes.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2018. Comments and Feedback.